Carrot, Egg or Coffee

Well, the story goes like this,

A young girl in her late teens is facing a lot of issues in her college life, its like if one issue ends the other pops right up. Frustrated she goes to her mom and says “ Mom I don’t know what to do, the problems are never ending! ” Her mom thinks for a while and takes her in the kitchen. She keeps water boiling in 3 different bowls, puts carrot in the first, egg in the 2nd and coffee in the 3rd. After 20 minutes or so she asks her daughter to have look at it and asks what do you see? Daughter says “ A Carrot, an egg and coffee” She asks her daughter to have a closer look at them, she asks her daughter to feel each of the items and then asks again what do you notice? The daughter notices that the carrot which was hard has been turned softer after putting in the boiling water, the egg which was weak had become stronger in the boiling water and the coffee had done wonders, in its aroma it had changed the boiling water itself. The daughter had got her answer and so did I! :)

In many ways the story speaks about our approach towards life in the tough times and I can resonate this with my approach during hard times in my life. I can’t help but to imagine what if we can play role of the carrot’s, the egg and the coffee. The things that I am rigid about, let the boiling water soften them, the things that I am insecure about let the boiling water give me the courage to let go the insecurity and make me stronger as a person. and lastly in the things that I am good at, let the boiling water bring the best out of me and light up my surroundings and people around with the aroma of goodness I have in me! :) What a powerful story it is. We all have to be a carrot, an egg or coffee depending upon what the boiling water demands of us! :)

Orignial story source

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

There’s still hope for the good!

Chennai has been flooded even on the day I am writing (4th Dec 2015). A lot of people without their choice are welcoming water in their homes, but there are also who welcoming guests to stay over during this crisis. God bless those... Continue →