The urban ashram - A life transforming space

Have been going to this sacred place since about a year now and I can’t get enough of it. What a beautiful way of sharing space with people and building a community of love sharing people.

150189_335419416659447_2066708152155697255_n.jpg

I have been visiting ‘The urban ashram’ since a year now and it is the reason for my happiness and my smiling face on all the Wednesday’s that I have visited there. The urban ashram offers you an unique experience of being with yourself even among being a lot of people. That hour of silence when every one has their eyes closed, you are truly with yourself and you explore more of you than judge and pass comments over others. The story sharing/ passage reading that follows the silence is yet another powerful concept where you can actually reflect on yourself and your actions and share what you feel from within. The passage reading without the silence I feel would not be as effective as it is currently :) . I thank Sheetal and Kushmita from the deepest corners of my heart for bringing up a place like this.

I have made amazing friends there. There was a time where I was literally alone in the city and didn’t have much social life, and I like to be socially active. The ashram had to call me at the very right moment. More than friends the ashram has in many ways guided me to lead a happier life. One easily gets washed away in the flow of money and materialism, I would love to say that urban ashram has helped me keep alive and be close to my basics. A kabir’s doha signifies my experience with urban ashram just perfectly

‘ Chaki chaki sab kahe kili kahe na koi,
jo kili se laga rahe wako baal na baka hoye’
dcp_3162.jpg

As you see in the picture chaki are those discs that move in counter directions and the grain is put from the hole ( kili ) in the centre, which is then crushed by the moving dics ( chakis ). The doha says every one talks about the ‘chaki’ and forgets the ‘kili’, the grain that is closer to ‘kili’ will always remained untouched. Similarly, I believe if I remain closer to my basics, I’ll be happier in life and urban ashram has kept me close to my basics!

Its not a space anymore, it feels like home and I feel there’s this powerful energy that has been developed over the years and that energy lits you up even if you are in the aura of the ashram. Hats off to Sheetal and Kushmita.

What amazes me is the idea that you guys open up your house every Wednesday without any second thoughts and just believe in the good and that too consistently from 7 years, this is Unbelievable!! I dream to offer my own place sometime in future and you guys have been a true inspiration behind this thought! :) :)

 
4
Kudos
 
4
Kudos

Now read this

3 Dominant Paradigms

As a part of a particular activity, I was reflecting upon my dominant paradigms and these are the three I could relate to. Having a full time job: So much has been talked about having and leaving a full time job. Its definitely a... Continue →